Domo

Any Amsterdam/NL traders?

Hey everyone,

I am moving to Amsterdam in a couple months and wanted to connect with any Amsterdam or NL based traders. I'm a 32 year old American male from San Francisco, and I'll be moving with my wife who will be attending university at UvA. I am not allowed to work on my visa so I am planning to trade full time and I was hoping to meet with some other trader(s) to share strategies, discuss the market, and learn from each other's successes and failures. I also was hoping someone could help me understand how taxes in NL work so I can do what I can to reduce my tax burden. Hope to hear from someone!

-Dominic

Hi Dominic, I am currently living in Paris but I am originally from the Netherlands (I used to live in Leiden where I studied for my bachelor's degree). I am curious to know what broker you are planning to use in the Netherlands (as most of them let European customers pay by traded value which is horrible). The only broker that seemed OK to me is SpeedTrader (even though PDT-rules apply). 

I think the Dutch tax system is quite nice for retail traders. In the Netherlands there are basically three categories of income, each with their own rules and tax rates (we call them 'boxes', so there is 'box 1', 'box 2' and 'box 3'); and gains made by retail day traders fall into 'box 3'. In general 'box 3' corresponds to savings and investments but in 2011 the Supreme Court of the Netherlands decided that day trading activities, due to its speculative character, should also be placed in this category. Effectively this means that there is a very low flat tax on your gains.