dmiles

New lifetime member here

Hello to the best trading community out there!

My name is Glen Miles, but I normally go by my middle name, which is Duane. I live with my wife Precy, and my 12 year old son Matt in warner Robins, GA, about an hour and a half south of Atlanta. I'm an engineer specializing in field service of medical imaging equipment, primarily CT, and MRI scanners. I have had a long, successful career, and I enjoy it very much. I am currently employed by Canon Medical Systems USA, and they are a great company for which to work.

I recently decided to no longer be simply a passive investor, and made a decision to take responsibility for the performance of my portfolio. I started out by learning as much as I could about analyzing the fundamentals of companies, and technical analysis of charts. I built a portfolio that includes long term, as well as swing investments.

I have always had a curiosity for day trading, but I was alarmed by what seemed to be an endless supply of vultures looking to feast upon the naïve and/or desperate folks who might be looking to get rich quick, or at least any easy way to quit the 9 to 5 grind, and work a couple of hours a day from a condo in the Bahamas. Even though I don't consider myself among that group, I still found that I had some misconceptions about day trading in general.

I was thrilled to find Dr. Aziz's book, How To Day Trade For A Living. I read it in a couple of days, and I am now reading Advanced Techniques In Day Trading, and I just signed up as a lifetime member. I plan on spending a few months trading with the simulator, to see if all this is for me.

I have some other things motivating me along this route, but I'll probably be discussing these things in the future. right now I just wanted to say hello, and I'm looking forward to the adventure. 

• Like 1
  • Thanks 1