peterB

Question for the consistent profiters

Hello,

i just wonder if it is possible to tell how many trades did it take for you to become consistently profitable traders? Or at least untill you could say that you are making money by trading.

It took me over a year to become a consistently profitable trader.  I was one of the dumb ones, and decided that I didn't need to use a Simulator account and that I could just learn on the fly.  Well, over $30,000.00 in losses later, I changed my mind.  I hit the books, watched videos, and traded in SIM for 3 months before I started trading live again.  And, when I did trade live, I started with 100 shares (or less) per trade, and only increased my share size by 25 percent each week if I had a profitable week.  It took me about 4 months to reach my current position sizing.  

When you're first getting started, DONT focus on the money.  Focus on quality setups, respecting your rules, and most importantly, MANAGING YOUR RISK.  90 percent of day traders fail.  If you want to be a part of the ten percent who make it, do it the right way.  

1)  Educate yourself and determine your strategies
2) Practice and refine your strategies in SIM for a minimum of 3 months
3)  When going live, start with SMALL position sizing and DONT focus on making money
4) Slowly and practically/sensibly increase your position size.  Don't go from 100 share to 500.  Honestly, don't even go from 100 to 200.  Increase your share size incrementally.
5) Continue to educate yourself.  If you break your rules, see steps 3 and 4.  You can always go back to smaller share size while you improve your processes.  
6) Congratulations, you're now part of the 10 percent. 

Edited by KurtLoeblich
  • Like 3

Thank you! Anyway could you quantify the number of trades you took in the over the year?